This is the "Get Started" page of the "Research How-Tos" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ask A Librarian  |  Library Hours  |  Library Home

Learning Commons

|  Library

MHCC Home

Research How-Tos   Tags: citing, information literacy, plagiarism, research, tutorials  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mhcc.edu/researchtutorials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suggest a Tutorial

We appreciate your feedback. Please rate any tutorial you use. If you have any comments, questions, or want to suggest other tutorials, please do so in the "Additional comments" box below.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome to the MHCC Research How-Tos Guide!

Here you will find tutorials, some produced at MHCC and others curated from other institutions, to help you with basic research questions, such as:

  • How do I find books @ MHCC Library?
  • What's InterLibrary Loan (ILL) and how do I use this service?
  • What is a library database?
  • If I have a citation for a specific article, how do I then find the article @ MHCC Library?
  • What are the differences between popular and scholarly sources?
  • What is plagiarism, and how do I avoid it @ MHCC?
  • And more!

To explore these self-paced tutorials, click on the tabs above to get started.

 

Introduction: Navigating MHCC Prezi Tutorials

Learn how to navigate the Prezi tutorials produced by the MHCC Library, as well as computer and software requirements to view the tutorials.

 

Library Research FAQs

Q. I'm overwhelmed. How do I start the research process?

A. Try these tips:

  • Think about your research NEED and then what kind of resource would best MATCH that need. 
  • Ask your teacher.
  • Ask a librarian.

Q. I'm getting 0 results when I search. What can I do?

A. Try these tips :

  • Check your spelling!
  • Or, perhaps you have too many key terms in your search, and your search terms are too narrow. Take off a key term or two and recheck your results.
  • Or, try different key terms, like synonyms, or try broader terms.

Q. I'm getting too many results when I search, and I'm feeling overwhelmed. What can I do?

A.  Try these tips to narrow down your search:

  • Try adding additional key terms to your search. 
  • Or, add limiters (such as population demographics or date of publication).

Q. The library has a LOT of library databases. Which one is best for my topic?

A.  Start at the Library home page > Databases page > and then choose a category (e.g. Business) to see a list of databases related to that topic.


Q. I'm trying to get into a library databases from home, but I can't log in. 

A. Try these tips on our Off-Campus Access Guide at http://www.mhcc.edu/LLRC.aspx?id=1080. If that doesn't help, contact our Student Help Desk directly at studenthelp@mhcc.edu


Q. I found an awesome article by Google searching, but now it wants me to pay for it! What do I do?

A. Don't pay for it! See if your MHCC Library has it! First, see if the library has the full-text copy of the article through one of our databases. Start at the Library home page > Find Articles link on the left > Locate a Journal Title link on the drop-down menu to get started. TIP: You will need to start with the journal title first.

If we don't have then article, then request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Library home page > Find Articles link on the left > Interlibrary Loan link on the drop-down menu >  scroll to the bottom and click the "request an article" link. Articles requested through ILL are processed electronically through email, so you can usually get articles within a day or two.


Q. I found a great citation in a library database, but there's no full text. What do I do?

A. First, see if the library has the article through a different database by following the steps right aboveTIP: You will need to start with the journal title first.

If not, then request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL), as described right above.


Q. I feel like I tried everything, and I am stuck. What should I do?

A. Ask a librarian! You can chat, email, text, come by in person to the Reference Desk, or make a research appointment with a librarian.

 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat With Us

Contact Us

Gresham Library  |  26000 SE Stark St. |  Gresham, OR 97030

 

Library Map

To help navigate your way around the MHCC Gresham Library in person, please take a look at our updated library map.

 

 

MHCC Library Facebook Page
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip