This is the "All" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ask A Librarian  |  Library Hours  |  Library Home

Learning Commons

|  Library

MHCC Home

Databases  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mhcc.edu/databases Print Guide Email Alerts

All Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Databases

  • A to Z Maps Online  
      
    Political, physical, outline, population, climate, historical, and many other types of maps available for downloading and printing for educational purposes only. Maps may be available in a variety of formats and download times vary greatly. New maps are added monthly.
  • Academic OneFile  
      
    13,000 titles including 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and 5,000 in full text. Covers all academic subject areas.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Full text from over 4,500 journals, including 3,700 peer-reviewed journals, covering all academic subject areas. Citations from over 3,500 more.
  • AccessScience  
      
    AccessScience features fully searchable content from the Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
  • Agricola  
      
    Over 4 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agricultures National Library.
  • Agricultural Collection  
      
    Selected full text on agriculture and its related fields; emphasis on titles from Agricola.
  • Alt HealthWatch  
      
    Full text from over 180 journals, plus pamphlets, book excerpts, and reports covering complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care.
  • Alt Press Watch  
      
    Full text from newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    Full text from 32 national and regional newspapers. Ads and most photos are excluded.
  • American Fisheries Society  
      
    Full text from several electronic journals published by the American Fisheries Society.
  • Article First  
      
    Citations of articles from the contents pages of over 12,500 journals.
  • ARTstor  
      
    Image collection of over 1 million art, archaeology, and architecture images from many cultures and time periods.
  • Biology Journals  
      
    Full text articles and images from over 265 biological sciences journals.
  • Birds of North America Online  
      
    A comprehensive full text resourceabout the life histories of all birds that live and breed in North America.
  • Business Economics & Theory  
      
    Selected full text on topics in economics; includes video feeds from Forbes.
  • Business Insights: Global  
      
    Full text scholarly journal articles plus detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT, market share, and financial reports, as well as case studies and business news.
  • Business Source Premier  
      
    Full text from over 2,300 business journals, plus market research, industry, and country reports.
  • CINAHL  
      
    Full text from over 550 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database.
  • Communications and Mass Media Collection  
      
    Selected full text from more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field.
  • Computer Database  
      
    Selected full text articles on computer related information.
  • Computer Source  
      
    Full text from over 300 journals and magazines covering various topics of computer science.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    Full text original reporting and balanced analysis on controversial topics. Each weekly issue focuses on one topic.
  • Credo Reference  
      
    500 full-text reference ebooks on all subjects including subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Includes concept mapping capabilities and topic page overviews.
  • Criminal Justice Collection  
      
    Selected full text from more than 700 journal titles on the subject of criminal justice.
  • Culinary Arts Collection  
      
    Includes selected full text from 250 cooking and nutrition magazines with thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
  • Discovering Collection  
      
    Full text reference works, multimedia, and primary sources; updated.
  • Diversity Studies Collection  
      
    This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community, including more than 150 journals.
  • ebrary  
      
    Full text from over 45,000 electronic books (eBooks) covering all academic subject areas.
  • EBSCOhost ebook collection  
      
    Full text from over 3,000 electronic books (eBooks) covering many academic subject areas.
  • Educators Reference Complete  
      
    Full ERIC database plus additional full text from ERIC journals and reports.
  • Electronic Collections Online  
      
    Citations from over 5,000 journals in a wide range of subject areas.
  • Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
    A scholarly, critical guide to all forms of science fiction.
  • Environmental Studies and Policy Collection  
      
    Selected full text from journal and reference content on the environmental issues.
  • ERIC  
      
    Selected full text from education journals and documents in the Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC).
  • Ethnic News Watch  
      
    Full text from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • Films on Demand (FMG)  
      
    Master Academic Collection which includes 5,600 full-length programs and 62,500 video segments on a wide variety of subjects.
  • Fine Arts and Music Collection  
      
    Selected full text from more than 150 journals that provides support for research in the areas of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
  • Fuente Academica  
      
    Full text from over 450 scholarly publications from 18 countries covering a variety of subject areas. Content is in Spanish.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
      
    Full text online general encyclopedia with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations, and maps.
  • Gale Power Search  
      
    Search all of our cross-searchable Gale databases at once.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Full text of specialized reference sources and encyclopedias on a variety of topics including biology, business, history, and the environment.
  • Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection  
      
    Selected full text from more than 100 journals focused on gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture; includes reference sources.
  • Gender Studies Collection  
      
    This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
  • Gender Watch  
      
    Full text from periodicals and other publications that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
  • General BusinessFile ASAP  
      
    Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
  • General OneFile  
      
    Selected full text database of magazine and newspaper articles covering all academic subject areas.
  • General Science Collection  
      
    A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
  • Global Road Warrior  
      
    Full text information on social, cultural, travel, and international business practices covering 175 countries and territories, including country maps and photos.
  • Government Printing Office  
      
    Full text U.S. government documents including Congressional reports and documents issued by departments of Defense, State, Labor, etc.
  • GreenFile  
      
    This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles draws on the connections between the environment and avariety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and the environmental effects of individuals,corporations and local/national governments.
  • GREENR  
      
    The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Includes authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center  
      
    Full text to medical reference sources, journals, PDR drug information, and consumer videos.
  • Health Reference Center Academic  
      
    Selected full text from nursing, allied health, and MEDLINE journals; includes surgery videos.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  
      
    Full text from over 80 magazines and 130 reference books covering general interest health topics. Includes clinical reports and drug guides.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    Full text from over 500 journals in medical disciplines and indexing for 300 more. Emphasis on nursing and allied health.
  • Home Improvement Collection  
      
    Selected full text from home-improvement magazines and journals including architectural techniques, zoning requirements, and tool and material selection.
  • Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection  
      
    Selected full text of journals, reference resources, and Fodors travel handbooks; includes coverage of both current and historical aspects of hospitality and tourism.
  • Information Science and Library Issues Collection  
      
    This collection, comprised of content from more than 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information on topics such as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.
  • Informe  
      
    Full text Spanish language magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • InfoTrac Newstand  
      
    Full text newspaper coverage for more than 1,000 newspapers.
  • Insurance and Liability Collection  
      
    This collection of journals takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
  • Intelecom  
      
    Database of academic video clips in core curriculum subjects.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection  
      
    Full text from complete back runs of 117 journal titles in 15 disciplines, including core research journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • LearningExpress Library 2.0  
      
    Practice tests with immediate scoring, answer explanations, and analysis of test results. Registered users can return to stored tests.
  • LearningExpress Library 3.0  
      
    Practice tests with immediate scoring, answer explanations, and analysis of test results. Registered users can return to stored tests.
  • Legal Collection  
      
    Full text from over 250 law publications, including law journals, legal documents, and case studies.
  • LegalTrac  
      
    Full text law journals selected by the American Association of Law Librarians.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    Full text from newspapers and magazines, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other current reference sources.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus  
      
    This Ebsco database has 252,000+ author biographies; 6,600+ author interviews; over 35,000 plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; 450 full-text literary journals; nearly 100,000 literary criticism essays, including The Bloom Series; 693,000+ book reviews; 78,400+ classic and contemporary poems; 19,700+ classic and contemporary short stories; 8,200+ classic texts.
  • LitFinder  
      
    Selected full text from thousands of poems, short stories, plays, and speeches.
  • MAS ULTRA  
      
    Full text from general interest and current events publications, reference books, and biographies. Images include photos, maps, and flags.
  • MasterFILE Premier  
      
    Full text from over 2,021 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more.
  • MedicLatina  
      
    Selected full text from medical research and investigatory journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers. Content is in Spanish.
  • Medline (EBSCO)  
      
    Selected full text in the National Library of Medicines index of articles from nursing, dentistry, veterinary, and pre-clinical sciences.
  • Medline (OVID)  
      
    Selected full text in the National Library of Medicines index of articles from nursing, dentistry, veterinary, and pre-clinical sciences.
  • Military & Government Collection  
      
    Full text from academic journals and other current news periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
  • New York Times  
      
    Full text from most articles from The New York Times, 2000 to current.
  • Newspaper Source  
      
    Full text from 25 national and international newspapers. Selected full text from over 300 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text television and radio news transcripts.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection  
      
    Selected full text from over 1,000 journals on the nursing and allied health; includes many titles also in CINAHL.
  • Nursing Resource Center  
      
    Full text journals, disease and drug overviews, care plans, anatomy and physiology diagrams.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Selected full text from published essays, statistics, and other reliable resources for researching positions on controversial topics.
  • Oregonian  
      
    Full text provided by Newsbank for most articles from September 1987- current with a one day delay.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    Full text from the second edition of the OED, including all updates.
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium  
      
    Full text from many of the Oxford University Press language and subject reference works. Includes illustrations.
  • Papers First  
      
    Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
  • Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection  
      
    Over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and more.
  • Polling the Nations  
      
    Full text from over 14,000 surveys conducted by polling organizations in the U.S. and 100 other countries, from 1986 to the present.
  • Popular Magazines  
      
    Full text coverage of 1,000 of the most searched magazines on all subject areas.
  • Proceedings First  
      
    Index of worldwide conference proceedings.
  • Professional Development Collection  
      
    Full text from over 500 journals especially for professional educators.
  • ProQuest Power Search  
      
    Search all of our ProQuest databases at once.
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
    Full text from 49 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 11 from allied organizations.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection  
      
    Full text from 540 journals covering psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • Psychology Collection  
      
    Selected full text from 500 psychology journals.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Citations and summaries for over 2 million journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in the field of psychology, dating back to early 1800s.
  • PubMed (see also: Medline)  
      
    PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. See also the Medline database for access to this content via EBSCO and OVID platforms.
  • Regional Business News  
      
    Full text from over 50 regional business publications.
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection  
      
    Full text from over 300 journals covering world religions, biblical studies, religious history, moral philosophy, and similar topics.
  • ScienceDirect College Edition  
      
    Full text from 1995-current from peer-reviewed journals and reference works in the subject areas of health, life, and social sciences.
  • Scientific & Medical ART Images (SMART)  
      
    Image collection of over 10,000 illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, trauma, and other topics.
  • Set for Science  
      
    Full text from over 390 science journals (earth, life, physical, medical, and applied sciences).
  • Small Business Resource Center  
      
    Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites on how to start, finance, or manage a small business.
  • Student Resources in Context  
      
    Full text articles, primary sources, multimedia covering all subject areas; includes numerous poems and literary criticism resources.
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education  
      
    Full text articles on news, trends, and employment opportunities in higher education.
  • TOPIC search  
      
    Full text from over 3,000 diverse sources for popular and timely topics on social, political, economic, and scientific issues.
  • U.S. History Collection  
      
    This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
  • U.S. History in Context  
      
    Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
  • Vocational & Career Collection  
      
    Full text from 400 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • Wall Street Journal  
      
    Full text from the eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, 1984 to the present.
  • War and Terrorism Collection  
      
    A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
  • World Almanac  
      
    Full text from Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia and four complete almanacs.
  • World Book Online Encyclopedia  
      
    Full text online encyclopedia with added content, including articles, primary source documents, multi-media, maps and web sites. Comes with a dictionary and a Spanish language encyclopedia.
  • World History Collection  
      
    This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
  • WorldCat  
      
    Index of over 52 million catalog records for books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat With Us
 

MHCC Primo Search


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip